Cerámicos

The Ceramics Division is a group of investigationformed at the end of the eighties. Initially its activity themes were of synthesis, characterization and evaluation of ceramic materials for electronic and biomedical applications.

Later, were incorporated new themes of investigation on structure ceramics, magnetic ceramics, ceramics for recycling process, composed materials, hybrid covers, chemical- mechanic, refractories and technology of supercritical fluids. Actually, the group is formed by 12 researches, 3 personal of support and 13 interns distribute on different lines of investigation. The activities executed are mostly funded through projects by public organisms (CONICET, ANPCyT, UNMdP) and also by conventions with companies for the execution of projects or for the making of technics and advising services.

The Ceramics can be defined like those materials of inorganic-nonmetallic origin. This definition includes a broad of materials that go from a refractory for an industrial oven to a memory to store data. Despite of the differences of its applications, the study of these materials can be approach through similar methodologies of preparation, process and evaluation. The technological demand to develop these materials and optimize its efficiency has incentivize the search of innovative experimental methods that allow to obtain ceramics nano and micro structured as well as strategies of evaluation of its properties and behavior, if possible on close conditions close to the service.

Actually, the activity of the Division concentrates on:

  • Development and design of ceramic materials for specific applications
  • Evaluation of ceramic raw materials and products
  • Structured advanced Ceramics, dense or porous, and refractories
  • Magnetic and electro-magnetic materials
  • Nano-structured Ceramics for electronic application
  • Piezoelectric materials and relaxors free of lead
  • Organic- inorganic hybrid materials for applications in health and environment
  • Nanostructured porous materials (of natural and synthetic origin)
Application fields

The investigated materials find application in the following strategic sectors:

Energy:
• Lead-free piezoelectric ceramics for energy harvesting
• Materials with hierarchical porosity and controlled morphology based on silicon oxycarbide
• Semiconducting and conducting films for optoelectronic applications

Industry:
• Magnetic and magnetoelectric ceramics for data storage devices
• Oxide porous ceramics as thermal insulators
• Refractories for steelmaking industry and other industries
• Porous ceramic materials obtained by 3D-printing

Health:
•Magnetic nanoparticles with theranostic action
• Functionalized Calcium phosphate bone cements
• Biocide coatings based on hybrid systems
Environment and Sustainable Development:
• Ceramic pieces for civil construction containing biomass residues previously used as heavy metal adsorbents
• Membranes with ceramic nanoparticles for environmental remediation

Technology Offer

Developments
• Raw materials for ceramics and ceramic products
• Ceramic processing by conventional and non-conventional techniques
• Design and development of ceramic materials for specific applications
• Mechanical behaviour at room and high temperatures. Design of non-rutinary tests.
• Corrosion of refractories
• Evaluation of electric behaviour of ceramic materials

Technical Services

Physical, physico-chemical and thermal tests
• Apparent and real densities
• Close, open and total porosities
• Differential thermal and thermogravimetric analyses (up to 1400°C)
• Qualitative and semi-quantitative mineralogical analyses by X-Ray diffraction
• Elemental composition by X-Ray florescence spectrometry
• Particle size distribution
• Microstructural analysis (quali/quantitative relationships of phases and pores)

Materials processing
• Calcination and sinteringup to 1700°C
• Milling in planetary mill, ball mill and attrition mill
• Granulometric separation by sieving
• Supercritical fluid drying of gels
• Rotational and oscillatory rheological tests ceramic-based suspensions

Thermomechanical tests
• Vickers and Knoop Hardness and crack propagation resistance by indentation
• Mechanical tests in biaxial flexure at room temperature
• Mechanical tests in uniaxial and diametral compression, and in 3-point and 4-point flexion, at room and high temperatures
• Thermal expansion and creep in compression (refractories)
• Stress-strain curves under uniaxial compression at room and high temperatures (refractories)
• Elastic and damping moduli by impulse excitation at room temperature

Electric and dielectric test
• Determination of the piezoelectric constant
• Ferroelectric hysteresis loops
• Determination of dielectric properties by impedance spectroscopy
• Determination of conductivity and resistivity ofthin films

INTEGRANTES

> Botta, Pablo Martín | Jefe de División
pbotta@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260633

> Tomba Martínez, Analía Gladys
agtomba@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260643

> Castro, Miriam Susana
mcastro@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260645

> Camerucci, María Andrea
andcamer@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260643

> Fanovich, María Alejandra
mafanovi@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260645

> Parra, Rodrigo
rparra@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260634

> Pellice, Sergio
spellice@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260634

> Ramajo, Leandro A.
lramajo@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260633

> Talou, Mariano
mtalou@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260643

> Cristóbal, Adrián
acristobal@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260633

> Procaccini, Raúl
rprocaccini@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260637

> Sandoval, María Laura
laura.sandoval@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260643

> Yohai del Cerro, Lucía
yohai@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260633

Personal de apoyo
> Gass, Sebastián Emiliano
segass@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260633

> Lere, Martín
mlere@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 626 0600 Int. 2140

> Benavides, Aldana
abenavides@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 626 0600 Int. 2140

Becarios
> Calvo, Walter Andrés
acalvo@fi.mdp.edu.ar
Tel.: 54 223 626-06 6260644

> Leonardi, Agustina Belén
ableonardi@fi.mdp.edu.ar

> Difeo, Mauro César
maurodifeo@fi.mdp.edu.ar

> Calderón Bedoya, Pedro Antonio
pcalderon@fi.mdp.edu.ar

> Moliné Marcos, Marcos Nahuel
moline@fi.mdp.edu.ar

> Certuche Arenas, Carol Stephany
carolcertuchea@fi.mdp.edu.ar

> Simón, Daiana Lucía
dsimon@fi.mdp.edu.ar

> Villegas Gómez, Edgar Arbey
evillegas@fi.mdp.edu.ar

> Hung Hung, Yuk Ming Xavier
xhung@fi.mdp.edu.ar

> Bolaños Rivera, Javier Oswaldo
javierbolanos06@fi.mdp.edu.ar